About UsConferenceArgo AwardExtra

The Don Argo Award

SUBMISSIONS ARE NOW CLOSED. The 2017 winner will be announced at the special meeting, 35 Years - A Space Coast Writer's Guild History - to be held on October 21, 2017, 12:00PM to 3:00PM, at the HBCA auditorium, 1500 W. Eau Gallie Blvd., Melbourne, Fl. 32935

From the president:

We are very pleased to announce that the SCWG is continuing our writing contest for the Don Argo award this year. The Don Argo Award was first presented in 2010. It recognizes the best in Florida writing by SCWG members in memory of beloved educator, author of Canaveral Light, founding member of the Space Coast Writers’ Guild, and longtime Florida resident Don Argo. If you have written a book set in Florida or know of another author you would like to recommend for the award, please see our guidelines below.

Submission Guidelines:

  • Fiction or non-fiction (no poetry or children’s books)
  • Published within the last two years
  • Set in Florida
  • Submit the first 50 pages
  • Entrant must be a member of the Space Coast Writers’ Guild (or pay a $40 fee)
  • One submission per SCWG member

Authors may self-nominate or be nominated by another. Submissions must include identification of author, address, phone, email, title of book, and year published. Submission may be a printed copy of the book or electronic submission of the first 50 pages. Submissions become the property of the Guild and are not returnable. Mail your submission to Ashley McGrath, 167 Battersea Ave. SE, Palm Bay, FL 32909. If electronic, email to amcgrath@scwg.org. Participants may also hand in submissions to a Board member. Deadline for submission is Sunday, August 20, 2017. There will be three judges with one being a Board member. The award will be presented at the October SCWG meeting.

Argo Award Winners:

  • 2016: Cindy Foley, The Truth Lies...a Florida Saga
  • 2014: Ruth Rodgers, Reparation
  • 2013: Marshall Frank, The Upside to Murder
  • 2012: Elaine Viets, The Dead-End Job series
  • 2011: Mark Mynheir, The Night Watchman
  • 2010: Don Argo, Canaveral Light

The winner will receive a modest monetary honorarium and engraved plaque.

We're looking forward to receiving your submission.

Cindy Foley

Please share!

We hope you enjoy
these books by some
of our members:

Times of Tragedy and Moments of Grace
Baggett, John

Teen Lovers: Murder Along the River
Vellekoop, Holly Fox

Swimming with Sharks and Dolphins
Miller, Ken

Rainbow of Mine
Siegel, Kandi M.

How Not to Steal a Car
Insula, Peggy


Site Index      Contact us
Web design by Bill Allen